Tuesday, September 2, 2008

Venetian delight

Area: 18.365 kmq
People: 4.381.000 ¿ 238 in./kmq
Chief town: Venice

By the administrative point of view, the Venice region is divided in the seven provinces of Belluno, Padua, Rovigo, Treviso, Venice, Verona, Vicenza. It includes the north-oriental division of Padanian land, between the Garda lake and the Adriatic sea and the Po, and a mountain division, represented by the Venetian Prealps and by an area of the Dolomitian Alps. These occupy the most northern appendix of the region, which extends to the high dock of the Piave river and goes as far as the border with Austria. In the level district rise lonelies the volcanic mountains Berici and Euganei. Besides Po, other important rivers are the Adige, the Brenta, the Piave, the Tagliamento. The coast area, low and sandy, is bordered by lagoons; Venice is in the centre of the most extensive lagoon. In the mountain district prevail the forest economy and the breeding. In the hilly district, at the foot of the prealpin mountains, is spread the vine-growing with production of famous wines. In the land are spread corn, sugar beet, tobacco, mulberry, potatoes, forage¿s cultivationes. Spread is the breeding. Prevail the textile industries, above all the wool industries of the Alto Vicentino; then there are industries of the hemp, the silk, the flax, the cotton. Importants the sugar mills of Polesine, the chemical and metallurgical industries of Porto Marghera and the mechanical works spread everywhere. Spread the Murano glass handcraft, the Burano lace handcraft, the glasses industries in Cadore, the art¿s forniture handcraft in Venice and Verona. Intense the fishery, either in the sea (Chioggia) or in the marshes. Numerous are the mountain and the bathing resorts along all the coast.
Post a Comment